Jack Kaiser Stadium
Jack Kaiser Stadium was constructed in the Spring of 2000 on the site of the former McCallen Field. Originally tabbed as The Ballpark at St. John's, the field was renamed Jack Kaiser Stadium during a dedication ceremony on May 5, 2007.
An All-American collegiate player, Hall of Fame coach and one of the founding fathers of the BIG EAST Conference, John W. "Jack" Kaiser has become synonymous with St. John's athletics over the years. The dedication ceremony brought out former Major Leaguers Frank Viola and John Franco as well as the voice of Yankee Stadium, Bob Sheppard. Close to 800 fans came to show their support, including some of Kaiser's teammates from the 1949 team that advanced to the College World Series. Kaiser threw out the ceremonial first pitch to conclude the ceremony.
The field gives the Red Storm one of the premier facilities for collegiate baseball in the BIG EAST, as well as one of the top in the Northeast. The facility boasts seating for 3,500 spectators, an electronic scoreboard in centerfield, a press box, lighting and a public address system.
The field was the home of the Queens Kings, a Class A team in the New York-Penn League affiliated with the Toronto Blue Jays, for their summer 2000 season. The Kings moved to their new home in Coney Island prior to the start of the 2001 season and are now known as the Brooklyn Cyclones.
"We really enjoy playing in our home field," St. John's Head Coach Ed Blankmeyer said. "It helps because it makes our guys want to go to the ballpark. The playing surface puts us in the top three in the league and the facility is one of the best in this region.