St. John's Celebrates 62nd Annual Athletic Awards Banquet

  • Photo Gallery

    May 5, 2008

    QUEENS, N.Y. - The St. John's Athletic Department gathered in Carnesecca Arena Monday night for the 62nd annual Awards Banquet to celebrate the year's achievements on the courts and fields, in the classroom and in the community. Director of Athletics Chris Monasch, department administrators and University staff, along with student-athletes and coaches from all 17 varsity Red Storm teams, came together to pay tribute to the year's accomplishments.

    Monasch got the night started by addressing the crowd of more than 500, outlining the impressive successes of St. John's Athletics this year, including the department's commitment to community service, academics and student development. That component of Red Storm sports was highlighted with a video compilation of student-athletes and support groups off the playing field, serving the community.

    Team award presentations followed, as squads named their most valuable players. Co-Masters of Ceremony, Associate Vice President for Athletics Kathleen Meehan and Associate Athletics Director for Communications Mark Fratto announced the award winners from the stage at Carnesecca Arena.

    Following a video featuring the athletic highlights from the 2007-08 year, the night's special awards were handed out. Women's soccer senior Julianna Cohen addressed her fellow student-athletes to conclude the evening. Listed below are all the night's award winners. Award: Recipient, Sport

    Christian L. Thomsen Award: Anthony Mason Jr., Men's Basketball

    Victoria Porter MVP Award: Kia Wright, Women's Basketball

    John T. "Doc" Gimmler Golf MVP Award: Keegan Bradley, Men's Golf

    Women's Golf MVP Award: Brittany Lambertson, Women's Golf

    George Santelli Award: Henry Kennard, Men's Fencing

    Women's fencing MVP: Reka Szele, Women's Fencing

    George Seewagen Memorial Award: Artem Vlasenko, Men's Tennis

    Women's Tennis MVP: Maria Zivcicova, Women's Tennis

    Kenneth F. Perrone Memorial Award: Jeff Stepan, Men's Soccer

    Marianne Viscovich-Powderly Memorial Award: Tara Mendoza, Women's Soccer

    Track and Field MVP: Priscilla Frederick, Track & Field

    Susan Kearns Memorial Award: Tyneka Greene, Cross Country

    Dr. Margaret Mary Fitzpatrick: Hui Ping Huang, Women's Volleyball

    Francis A. McCall Memorial Award: Tom Michaelsen, Men's Lacrosse

    Softball MVP: Lisa Geer, Women's Softball

    John Holohan Spirit Award: Tracie Szatkowski, Dance Team

    Lawrence T. Thomsen Memorial Award: Paris Horne, Men's Basketball

    Marianne Noonan Award: Joy McCorvey, Women's Basketball

    Excalibur Award: Stan Vaksman, Men's Fencing

    Joseph J. Calagno Award: Monika Golebiewski, Women's Fencing

    Kathleen Murphy Meehan Award: Elizabeth Austin, Women's Volleyball

    John DaSilva Memorial Award: Matt Tosoni, Men's Baseball

    Dr. Peter Vitulli Award: Alyssa Clark, Women's Softball

    Walter T. MacLaughlin Award: Jill Christensen

    James Kevin Beatty: Katie Moore, Women's Basketball

    Rickard F. McSwiney Award: Jeff Stepan, Men's Soccer

    Rickard F. McSwiney Award: Jeff Grantham, Men's Baseball

    Rickard F. McSwiney Award: Julianna Cohen, Women's Soccer

    Dr. Michael Pisano Memorial Award

    Otoja Abit, Men's Basketball

    Jamie Beran, Women's Soccer

    Susan Byrne, Women's Soccer

    Julianna Cohen, Women's Soccer

    Jeff Grantham, Men's Baseball

    Jason Landers, Men's Soccer

    Katia Larchanka, Women's Fencing

    Ryan Parker, Men's Lacrosse

    Rory Quinn, Men's Soccer

    Jeff Stepan, Men's Soccer

    Reka Szele, Women's Fencing

    Elizabeth Lapchick Award: Kia Wright, Women's Basketball

    Elizabeth Lapchick Award: Chris DeMarco, Men's Lacrosse

    John W. Kaiser Award: Hui Ping Huang, Women's Volleyball

    Frank C. Haggerty Award: George Brown, Men's Baseball

    Herbert V. Hess Award: Joanne Persico-Smith, Women's Volleyball

  • St. John's Official Store
    Big East logo and link Home I M G logo and link Home N C A A logo and link Home St. John's University logo and link Home