St. John's Mullin Announced Among 2011 Naismith Hall Of Fame Inductees

April 4, 2011

  • Official Website of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

    HOUSTON - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame today announced that 10 individuals have been named as the Class of 2011 to be honored August 11-13 during this year's Enshrinement Ceremonies, presented by NIKE. The inductees include former St. John's great, NBA star and 1992 Dream Team member Chris Mullin; five-time NBA champion Dennis Rodman; ABA/NBA legend Artis Gilmore and four-time NCAA women's coach of the year Tara VanDerveer; in addition to four-time Olympic gold medalist Teresa Edwards; European standout Arvydas Sabonis; all-time NCAA wins leader Herb Magee; eight-time NBA champion Tom "Satch" Sanders; coaching legend Tex Winter; and former Harlem Globetrotter Reece "Goose" Tatum, who will be honored posthumously. The announcement was made at a news conference in Houston, the site of the 2011 NCAA Final Four.

    "We are pleased to welcome these 10 electees who will join the greatest in the game and take their rightful place in Springfield as a Hall of Famer," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

    "The Basketball Hall of Fame's Class of 2011 is a true global representation of the game of basketball," said Jerry Colangelo, Chairman of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Board. "These distinguished players and coaches have made an impact at all levels worldwide and they have motivated, taught and inspired future generations to succeed both on and off the court."

    Mullin starred at St. John's from 1981-85 and directed the Redmen to some of the greatest seasons in program history. A three-time BIG EAST Player of the Year (1983-85), Mullin averaged 19.8 points as a senior while leading St. John's to the 1985 Final Four and its first No. 1 ranking since 1951. In 1985, he received the John R. Wooden Award as the nation's top player and was named the Player of the Year by both United Press International and the U.S. Basketball Writers Association. Mullin, a two-time All-American, also garnered consensus first-team All-America honors as a senior.



    The lefty from Brooklyn is St. John's all-time leading scorer with 2,440 career points and his scoring average of 19.5 points per game is the sixth-best mark in program history. In St. John's record books, he ranks in the top 10 in 18 different statistical categories. He also holds St. John's career free throw percentage record at 84.7 percent (682-of-805).

    This past fall, Mullin joined ESPN as an NBA in-studio analyst. Prior to holding front office positions with the Golden State Warriors from 2002-09, the 16-year NBA veteran played for the Warriors (1985-2007, 2000-01) and Indiana Pacers (1997-2000). He was a five-time NBA All-Star with the Warriors (1989-93) and made the All-NBA First Team in 1992.

    Mullin was selected by the Warriors with the seventh overall pick in the 1985 NBA Draft. During his NBA career, Mullin scored 17,911 points, averaging more than 20.0 points per game six-consecutive seasons (1987-93). He averaged 18.2 points per game throughout his career while shooting 51 percent from the field and 87 percent from the free throw line.

    A two-time Olympic gold medalist, Mullin was first inducted into the Naismith Memorial Hall of Fame in August of 2010 as a member of the 1992 United States Olympic Team, also known as the original "Dream Team." His 2011 induction solidifies him as the ninth individual affiliated with St. John's venerable basketball program to be inducted. Coaches Joe Lapchick (1966), Frank McGuire (1977), Lou Carnesecca (1992) and standout player Dick McGuire (1993) have all been enshrined in Springfield, along with alumnus John O'Brien, 1909-10 head coach Harry Fisher, 1980-81 volunteer assistant coach and Knicks legend Willis Reed and 1948-51 letterwinner and former Marquette mentor Al McGuire.

    To be elected, finalists required 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee for election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. This year, in addition to the Veterans and International committees, there are directly elected enshrinees from two other newly formed committees representing the American Basketball Association (ABA) and Early African-American Pioneers of the Game. This change in the selection process will ensure that the Hall of Fame takes the necessary steps to preserve the history of the game and protect a critical era of basketball.

    The Class of 2011 will be enshrined during a week of events culminating on Friday, August 12 in Springfield, Mass., followed by a special ceremony at the Mohegan Sun in Uncasville, Conn., on Saturday, August 13. Ticket packages to the 2011 Enshrinement Ceremony and all Enshrinement Events are on sale now and available by calling the Hall of Fame at (413) 231-5550. Additional information on Enshrinement Week will be announced in the near future, and information will be available at

  • StJohnsBBall

    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago
    ST.JOHN'S OFFICIAL STORE St. John's Official Store
    Big East logo and link Home I M G logo and link Home N C A A logo and link Home St. John's University logo and link Home