St. John's Begins Spring Season with Edwin Watts/Kiawah Island Classic

Feb. 24, 2018

Live Stats
Follow St. John’s Women’s Golf Twitter

QUEENS, N.Y. - The St. John's women's golf team begins its 2018 spring slate on Sunday. The Johnnies will open season play at the largest collegiate golf tournament in the country, the Edwin Watts/Kiawah Island Classic on Kiawah Island, S.C., for the sixth-straight year. The teams will tee off in an 8:45 a.m. shotgun start.

The Red Storm had success at last year's Edwin Watts/Kiawah Island Classic, when the team recorded a program-record, carding a one-over 289 final-round score to claim a top-15 finish out of 43 competing teams.

Linda Wang will represent the Johnnies in the number one spot at the opening tournament, followed by the Kaitleen Shee,  Andrea SanchezAlejandra Sanchez, and Sofie Huseby,  respectively. Lydia Kim will participate in the individual portion of the tournament.

About the Edwin/Watts Kiawah Island Classic

Tabbed as the largest collegiate golf tournament in the country, the 2018 edition of the Edwin Watts / Kiawah Island Spring Classic will host 43 teams in this year’s field and will be played for the fourth time in its history at Osprey Point at the Kiawah Island Golf Resort on Kiawah Island, S.C.

The 43 participating teams include: Bethune Cookman, Boston University, Bucknell, Charleston Southern, College of Charleston, East Tennessee State, Elon, Fairleigh Dickinson, Georgia Southern, Georgetown, Hampton, High Point, Indiana State, IUPUI, Jacksonville, Jacksonville State, Lipscomb, Longwood, Marshall, Navy, UNCG, UNCW, Murray State, North Florida, Omaha, Presbyterian, Quinnipiac, Richmond, Samford, Sandhills Community College, SCAD, Stephen F. Austin, Stetson, St. John’s, South Dakota, Susquehanna, Tennessee, Towson, USC Upstate, UT Arlington, Western Carolina, Western Kentucky and William & Mary

Two courses are used for the three-day, 54-hole tournament. After 36 holes of play, the top 22 teams will play for the championship at Osprey Point during the final round, while teams 23-44 will play for a flight championship at Oak Point.

Last year, Coastal Carolina won the team title for the second year in a row (+6), while host College of Charleston was runner-up (+7). CofC’s Laura Fuenfstueck won individual medalist honors (-8) and East Tennessee State’s Hee Ying Loy was the runner-up (-6).

Tee times will begin Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday at 8:45 a.m., in a shotgun start. Both the first and second round will be broken up into morning and afternoon portions, with the afternoon group teeing off at 1:30 p.m. Live scoring will be available via golfstat.

For all the latest news on the St. John's Women's golf team, log on to and follow the team (@StJohnsWGolf) on Twitter. You can join the conversation with the hashtag, #SJUWGolf. If you would like to be added to the St. John's Women's Golf mailing list, send an email to with the subject line "Women's Golf Mailing List."




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
ST.JOHN'S OFFICIAL STORE St. John's Official Store
Big East logo and link Home I M G logo and link Home N C A A logo and link Home St. John's University logo and link Home